Most popular advice guides

Service charges and other issues

Service charges, administration charges, ground rent, recognised tenants associations and forfeiture. For a brief summary...

Leasehold Extension – Getting Started

The right to extend the lease of a flat under the Leasehold Reform Housing and...

Living in Leasehold Flats – A guide to how it works

The nature and typical rights and obligations that relate to the ownership of a leasehold...

Section 20 Consultation for Private Landlords, Resident Management Companies and their Agents

Consultation for qualifying works to a building and qualifying long-term agreements. Purpose of this booklet...

Leasehold Houses – Buying the freehold – Qualification and procedure

Qualification requirements for a tenant to buy the freehold of their leasehold house and outline...

Right to Manage

The right for leaseholders of a building containing flats to take over the management of...

Government to end unfair and abusive practices within the leasehold system, including a ban on leaseholds for almost all new build houses

21 December 2017

Today, the Communities Secretary announced plans to deliver a fairer, more transparent system for leasehold homeowners in England.

Measures to be introduced include:

In addition, the Communities Secretary will be writing to all developers to strongly discourage the use of Help to Buy Equity loans for the purchase of leasehold houses in advance of legislation and to ask those who have customers with onerous ground rent terms to provide necessary redress.

The proposed measures follow the Government’s recent consultation – ‘Tackling unfair practices in the leasehold market’ – which saw over 6,000 responses (see LEASE response).

The Government’s full response to the consultation can be seen here.

LEASE looks forward to working with the Government and all stakeholders in the sector to implement these measures and the deliver a fairer system for leasehold owners in England.

LEASE is governed by a board, appointed as individuals by the Secretary of State for the Ministry of Housing, Communities & Local Government.